IBF orders rematch for Andre Dirrell vs. Jose Uzcategui

IBF orders rematch for Andre Dirrell vs. Jose Uzcategui

Published: June 27, 2017


Andre Dirrell and Jose Uzcategui in the middle of an exchange. Photo: Tom Casino/Showtime

Andre Dirrell and Jose Uzcategui in the middle of an exchange. Photo: Tom Casino/Showtime

This week the International Boxing Federation (IBF) ordered a rematch to take place between Michigan’s Andre Dirrell (26-2, 16 KOs) and Jose Uzcategui (26-2, 22 KOs). The two men first battled last May in Oxon Hill, Maryland where the fight ended in controversial fashion. At the end of the eighth round, Uzcategui landed a punch after the bell during a three-punch combination that dropped Dirrell to the canvas. The referee, Bill Clancy, chose to stop the fight and disqualify Uzcategui for the punch after the bell. 

Afterward, all hell broke loose as multiple members of Dirrell’s camp caused a scene outside of the ring. What the fight will be remembered the most for is when Dirrell’s Uncle Leon Lawson entered the ring and punched Uzcategui in the face. For this action, Lawson has been banned by multiple organizations from working a corner. The legal ramifications as to what will happen to Lawson has yet to be determined. It is highly probable that in the rematch Lawson will not be in Dirrell’s corner. 

The IBF must have taken into consideration how competitive the fight was before the stoppage as both men had their moments. It is possible for a rematch to take place this year if both men did not suffer any injuries from the first fight. Uzcategui’s agent Sean Gibbons spoke with boxingscene.com, regarding the next steps being taken with the rematch and Leon Lawson. 

“We go to court on August 16, he will be tried that day. With something like this, it was a horrible thing, he should be made an example of, but the court system is about making deals, so whatever he gets, even if he doesn’t do anytime, he will get a lengthy probation. He’ll never be in the corner for a world title fight with any organization again.”
— Sean Gibbons

In a letter that was provided to boxingscene.com, the IBF president Daryl Peoples gives a breakdown as to why they decided to order a rematch. The IBF feels that the punch that landed after the bell was unintentional by Uzcategui.  They also believe that referee Bill Clancy made a mistake in letting Dirrell know that he was thinking of disqualifying Uzcategui. 

“During our review of the fight, The championships chairman and I observed Jose Uzcategui hit Andre Dirrell and knock him to the canvas after the bell had sounded ending the eighth round. The punch that knocked Dirrell down was part of a 3-punch combination. Immediately following the knockdown referee Bill Clancy called ‘time out’ and asked Andre Dirrell if he was ‘ok’. Andre Dirrell was on his hands and knees and shook his head in the affirmative.” 

”The IBF has also determined that it was inappropriate for the Referee to advise Dirrell of the decision of the bout prior to the official decision being announced. Based on the above, the IBF considers the Referee’s failure to determine whether the foul was intentional or accidental and that the Referee informed Dirrell of the official decision before the decision was announced, the IBF has ruled that the Referee’s conduct was inappropriate and will grant an immediate rematch pursuant to rule 5.K.”
— Daryl Peoples

(Feature Photo: Tom Casino/Showtime)

Video: Showtime Sports: Brian Custer with Adrien Broner

Video: Showtime Sports: Brian Custer with Adrien Broner

PHOTOS: Canelo-Golovkin Los Angeles press conference

PHOTOS: Canelo-Golovkin Los Angeles press conference