Rigondeaux could battle the winner of Frampton-Quigg fight
By Joseph Correa
WBA super bantamweight champion Scott Quigg (31-0-2, 23 KOs) and IBF 122lb champion Carl Frampton (21-0, 14 KOs) are set to clash on Feb 27 at the Manchester Arena in Manchester England. The winner must face WBA “Champion in recess” Guillermo Rigondeaux (16-0, 10 KOs) by July 27th of this year or be stripped of the WBA belt.
The Frampton-Quigg winner will hold both the IBF and WBA titles. Holding the WBA belt comes at a price in this situation because it will create a scenario where the winner of the fight will be made by the WBA to face one of the best
The only way to avoid this fate is to vacate! Unfortunately, this is what will likely take place as neither man seems eager to step up to such a colossal challenge. Neither Frampton nor Quigg
Rigondeaux himself was recently stripped by the WBA due to inactivity. The WBA instead gave Rigondeaux the status of “Champion in Recess,” meaning that he will have a shot at the WBA super bantamweight title after the next fight.
“Rigondeaux shall come out of recess and face the winner of the February 27 unification bout between WBA champion Scott Quigg and IBF champion Carl Frampton,” said WBA chairman Gilberto Jesus Mendoza to skysports.com. “The winner of said bout, or Quigg if the fight is ruled a draw, must fight Rigondeaux on or before July 27, 2016.”
If the winner of Frampton-Quigg does decide to take the mandatory challenge and fight Rigondeaux things could get interesting. The winner of that fight would be in line for a clash with the WBO champion Nonito Donaire or WBC 122lb champion Julio Ceja in two potentially explosive unification bouts which would in turn, set up a winner take all type scenario in the 122lb division. Exciting stuff, but we will have to see which direction Frampton or Quigg decide on once their highly anticipated battle is over. Until then we sit and wait...