Eddie Alvarez is your new champ

Eddie Alvarez is your new champ

By Edward Carbajal

  Photo: Edward Carbajal/Frontproof Media

Photo: Edward Carbajal/Frontproof Media

The first of three events for International Fight Week leading to UFC 200 set a very high bar for the other events. UFC Fight Night 90: Dos Anjos vs. Alvarez was an event on Fight Pass, that was worthy of being a pay-per view. Eddie Alvarez was able to finish Rafael Dos Anjos and claim the UFC Lightweight Title, a goal he has been pursuing since beginning his MMA career.

The entire card was on fire with only four fights going to the judges, submissions were on order for most of the fights and the ones that were decisions were all potential “fight of the night” candidates. All leading up to the main event, one-round fight that saw Alvarez realize his goal. The TKO victory he earned in round one was everything you would expect from the former Bellator champion. His quick faints and constant pressure was too much for Dos Anjos to keep up with. The one point they went to the ground, Alvarez escaped a potentially dangerous submission with his athleticism and managed to keep the fight standing to get the finish.

If you were ever on the fence about Fight Pass, this should be the card that helps you jump in on the action. See the full results listed below:

Main card

Eddie Alvarez def. Rafael dos Anjos via TKO (punches) - Round 1, 3:49

Derrick Lewis def. Roy Nelson via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Alan Jouban def. Belal Muhammad via unanimous decision (28-27, 29-28, 29-27)

Joseph Duffy def. Mitch Clarke via submission (rear-naked choke, 0:25, Round 1)



Alberto Mina def. Mike Pyle via knockout (flying knee, 1:17, Round 2)

John Makdessi def. Mehdi Baghdad via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Anthony Birchak via Dileno Lopes via split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28)

Pedro Munhoz def. Russell Doane via submission (guillotine, 2:08, Round 1)

Felipe Arantes def. Jerrod Sanders via verbal submission (arm bar, 1:39, Round 2)

Gilbert Burns def. Lukasz Sajewski via submission (arm bar, 4:57, Round 1)

Marco Beltran def. Reginaldo Vieira via submission (rear-naked choke, 3:04, Round 2)

Vicente Luque def. Alvaro Herrera via submission (D'Arce choke, 3:52, Round 2)


Edward Carbajal is a contributing writer for MMA at Page2sports.com and Frontproof Media. You can follow Edward on Twitter @Carbazel or at his website TheBlogBoardJungle.com. Check out his podcast on Spreaker.

Brock Lesnar's next move

Brock Lesnar's next move

VIDEO: UFC 202 Press Conference

VIDEO: UFC 202 Press Conference