UFC Fight Night Cyborg vs. Lansberg

UFC Fight Night Cyborg vs. Lansberg

By Edward Carbajal

The UFC returns to Brazil this Saturday with Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino facing Lina Lansberg at the catch-weight of 140 pounds for the main event of UFC Fight Night. A lot of news has been circling Justino because at the time of this posting, she still has ten pounds to lose. While Justino really has nothing to prove she was confident in being able to make the weight for this weekend’s event.

Weight cutting has been an issue for many fighters in the past, so much so the UFC instituted a new policy this past July that would allow fighters to weigh in earlier so they have more time to recover for fight night. Last time Justino fought she weighed in at 138 pounds, two pounds lighter than she needed to be but it seemed hard for her to get there based on footage of her cutting weight from her upcoming documentary.

She is likely having a rougher cut this time around but if her last fight in the UFC is any indication of how she handles things leading up to the fight as opposed to the actual fight, she will likely do well. During her appearance on UFC Tonight she seemed alright and let fans know she is a little annoyed about the focus on her weight cut for this weekend.

No matter what happens, she still holds a title at 145 pounds for Invicta FC and she has stated before she intends on defending it.

 

UFC Fight Night Brasilia Card on Fox Sports 1 @10pm ET/ 7pm PT

Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino vs. Lina Lansberg

Renan Barao vs. Phillipe Nover

Michinori Tanaka vs. Rani Yahya

Paul Felder vs. Francisco Trinaldo

Jussier Formiga vs. Dustin Ortiz

Roy Nelson vs. Antonio Silva

Prelims 8pm ET/ 5pm PT Fox Sports 1

Michel Prazeres vs. Gilbert Burns

Erick Silva vs. Luan Chagas

Justin Scoggins vs. Pedro Munhoz

Thiago de Lima Santos vs. Eric Spicely

Mike De La Torre vs. Godofredo Pepey

UFC Fight Pass Early Prelims 6:30pm ET/ 3:30pm PT

Gregor Gillespie vs. Glaico Franca

Vicente Luque vs. Hector Urbina

Alan Patrick vs. Steven Ray

 

Edward Carbajal is a contributing writer for MMA at Page2sports.com and Frontproof Media. You can follow Edward on Twitter @Carbazel or at his website TheBlogBoardJungle.com. Check out his podcast on Spreaker.

VIDEO: UFC Fight Night Brasilia Weigh-Ins

VIDEO: UFC Fight Night Brasilia Weigh-Ins

Underrated: Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal

Underrated: Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal